Zoning Office

The Zoning Office administers the City of Syracuse Zoning Rules and Regulations, as amended, and provides staff to the City Planning Commission (CPC), Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA), and Common Council.

Cities, towns and villages in New York State are authorized by state statutes, called “zoning enabling laws," to regulate the use and development of land by enacting what is commonly referred to as "zoning.” Its goal is to carry out the City's long range land use objectives in accordance with its comprehensive plan. 

The Zoning Office is part of the Syracuse-Onondaga County Planning Agency (SOCPA).

Self Services

Other Zoning Information